澳大利亚矿业巨头急切呼吁 停止对华紧张局势

澳大利亚矿业巨头急切呼吁 停止对华紧张局势

Fri, 02/03/2018 - 10:38
0 comments
Andrew Forrest

安德鲁·福雷斯特(Andrew Forrest) 呼吁评论家勿再对政治或文化差异纠缠不清。照片来源:澳中工商业委员会(ACBC)

福特斯克金属集团(Fortescue Metals Group)的董事长安德鲁·福雷斯特(Andrew Forrest)敦促中澳两国政府抛开外交紧张局势,认识到友好双边关系对两国全面繁荣发展的重要性。

3月1日晚,福雷斯特先生参加由澳中工商业委员会(Australia China Business Council ,ACBC)/澳大利亚中国总商会(China Chamber of Commerce in Australia)举行的农历新年庆祝活动,并发表演讲。福雷斯特先生称,若两国采取成熟有力且互相尊重的措施,澳大利亚与中国的友好关系将继续繁荣发展。

福雷斯特先生的演讲慷慨激昂,他指出,远在一战时期中国军队就曾与澳大利亚士兵并肩作战,做出牺牲。而如今,澳大利亚的许多言论却助长了澳大利亚对华的不信任、不尊重甚至无端猜忌的情绪。因此福雷斯特先生呼吁评论家勿再对政治或文化差异纠缠不清。

“这些差异早在数十年前便已存在,现在却被暗指给澳大利亚带来所谓‘新的挑战’。”福雷斯特先生略表失望。

“在这些差异中,中澳两国曾共同开拓,建立起如今的稳固友好关系;在这些差异中,我们并肩作战,携手前行;亦是在这些差异中,双方签订了在全球范围内都颇为重要的贸易协定。这正是所谓和而不同,求同存异。

“我们不能管中窥豹,只关注两国之间的差异。

“而应该坦诚相待,着手于关注领域,解决双方之间的分歧。”

福雷斯特先生表示,若澳大利亚未曾与中国建立强有力的财政关系,连续27年经济增长的记录可谓天方夜谭,更无法轻易远离全球金融危机的深渊。

“毋庸置疑,中国的发展推动了澳大利亚的发展。”福雷斯特先生如是说道。

“中国背负的历史使命是在数十年间让数以亿计的人民脱贫致富,而在此期间,澳大利亚可谓搭上了‘顺风车’。如今,澳大利亚近30%的出口商品销往中国,带来了高达300亿澳元的贸易顺差。

“与此同时,澳大利亚在矿业和农业方面的企业,以及教育和医疗保健等领域的高技能服务,也持续为中国的繁荣发展提供动力,提高中国人民的生活水平。”

福雷斯特先生希望2018年能成为中澳关系的转折点,并敦促政府、商界及评论家们在未来与中国的接触交流中发挥积极作用。

“相互尊重是两国在区域发展中分享共同命运、实现共同目标的基石。”福雷斯特先生指出。

“因此我希望澳大利亚人民能与我一起,尊重并祝贺华人社区在澳大利亚的深厚根基,以及中国在澳大利亚的繁荣发展和文化丰富性中发挥的重要作用。”

Forrest calls for end to China tension

Forrest calls for end to China tension

Fri, 02/03/2018 - 10:38
0 comments
Andrew Forrest

Andrew Forrest has told critics to stop focusing on political or cultural differences. Photo: ACBC

Fortescue Metals Group chairman Andrew Forrest has urged the Australian and Chinese governments to set aside diplomatic tensions and recognise the importance of the bilateral relationship to both countries’ wellbeing and prosperity.

Mr Forrest, who was speaking at the Australia China Business Council/China Chamber of Commerce in Australia Chinese New Year celebrations last night, said Australia’s relationship with China would continue to prosper if both countries acted with maturity, strength and respect.

In a passionate speech that gave recognition to the sacrifice made by Chinese troops alongside Australian soldiers in World War One, Mr Forrest said much of the current debate in Australia had fuelled distrust, paranoia and a loss of respect, and called on critics to stop focusing on political or cultural differences.

“These differences, which are often used to imply some ‘new challenge’ to Australia, have existed for decades,” Mr Forrest said.

“They existed while we carved out our current strong relationship. They existed when we fought alongside one another.

“And they existed when we signed globally important trade deals.

“We need to stop only focusing on what separates us.

“We need to frankly address areas of concern and disagreement between us.”

Mr Forrest said Australia would not have been able to record 27 years of economic growth without a strong fiscal relationship with China, which also insulated it from the depths of the global financial crisis.

“China’s growth has driven Australia’s growth,” he said.

“Their historic quest to pull hundreds of millions of people out of poverty in a single generation has also pulled us along in their wake, and they now buy nearly 30% of our exports and represent a $30 billion trade surplus on our current account.

“Likewise, Australian entrepreneurialism in mining and agriculture, and our highly-skilled services in sectors like education and healthcare, continue to propel the development and rising standard of living of our northern neighbour, China.”

Mr Forrest said he was hopeful that 2018 would be a turning point for the China-Australia relationship, and urged government, business and commentators to play a positive role in future engagement with China.

“Mutual respect is the bedrock of our shared destiny and purpose in the region,” Mr Forrest said.

“So I ask Australians to stand with me and respect and celebrate the Chinese community’s deep roots in Australia, and the vital role China has played in the strength and cultural richness of Australia.”